Fernvale Primary School

Fernvale Primary School

A place to learn and grow

Somerby Road, Leicester, Leicestershire, LE7 9PR


0116 241 6722




The Foundation classes follow the Department for Education framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This is a curriculum designed for our youngest learners and is based on setting solid foundations for the National Curriculum by learning through play and first-hand experiences.

There are 7 areas of learning in the EYFS. The 3 Prime areas cover the most essential skills that are needed to help the children’s development and the 4 Specific areas are dependent upon the successful application of the Prime areas.

On entry into the Foundation class, we will gather evidence to assess children. We do this by looking at their achievements in their pre-school provision and from observations during the first weeks of school. 

We assess against the statements from the Development Matters document. Our initial assessments inform our planning and provision for the children. 

We will continue to assess the children across the year and we will be asking for information from home to inform our assessments at school.

At the end of their Foundation year, we will assess the children against the seven areas of learning. This takes the form of 17 early learning goal statements which are the expected levels of development for a child at the end of their time in Foundation. 

We will be keeping you updated on your child's progress via parents evenings and we are available to speak to you if you have any questions or concerns. We will be sending out a full report on your child's progress at the end of the academic year.

Back to the Top